“I realize we spent countless hours…”

MARK COLANGELO – “I love making music, but make no mistake; it’s hard work.  Invisible Garden has put out two EP’s.

Looking back, I realize we spent countless hours writing, recording, and mixing, but virtually no time promoting. That part was boring, and I didn’t think it was important.  I used to believe that good music would simply promote itself—That success was based purely on the music itself. I don’t believe that anymore.

I think that mindset is a trap that a lot of independent artists fall into, and it’s a shame because it means a lot of good music is goes unheard.

Mark is one half of Invisible Garden Aaron Gaita is the other half.

Invisible Garden’s list of influences is uncomfortably wide. It could be 50’s sitcoms, haunted mermaids, or post-modern architecture; they always seem to find inspiration in strange places. The result— a refreshing take on electronic-pop music.

We started Invisible Garden in a dorm room with a busted synth, a microphone and a lot of free time. With no background in electronic music we wrote songs with an acoustic guitar, a pen and some paper. Because of that, we like to say our sound was born from Folk Music, but then abducted by aliens.

After college we started jamming live with a guitar, Abelton Live, and a synth (yes that same busted synth). We altered the songs a great deal for live performance, amping up the dance/trance factor to 11.

We also started working with a visual artist, Ryan McDaid, who tells stories through animations during our live show. We found that our live show transformed from just a set of songs, into some sort of a visual, trance pop rock experiment that we would love to share with as many people as we possibly can.

“Chevy” is a topsy-turvy requiem for the allegorical ‘small-town-girl in the big-city.’ It’s “Thoroughly Modern Millie” set to a house beat. It’s…

Alright, enough with the big language. With this track, Invisible Garden demonstrates their fine handle on the art of tension and release (just wait until the chorus kicks in, you’ll see what I mean). Beyond all else though, it’s just a fun fucking song and you should jam on it. Oh, and those first couple sentences are true too. I think you gotta live in NYC to understand.

Invisible Garden is looking to collaborate with #MassivelyEpic through #artistTRANSFORM and with the help of #TRANSFORMTODAY can produce content that has greater impact and reach with other independent artists. Help support Invisible Garden with your vote today:

#InvisibleGarden #artistTRANSFORM #TRANSFORMTODAY

Comments
3 Responses to ““I realize we spent countless hours…””
  1. Howdy I am so grateful I found your blog, I really found you by error, while I was looking on Aol
    for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thank
    you for a remarkable post and a all round exciting blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time
    I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up
    the great work.

  2. Emery says:

    Hello There. I found your weblog the use of msn. This is a very neatly written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read extra of your helpful information. Thanks for
    the post. I will certainly comeback.

  3. Hi my loved one! I wish to say that this article is awesome,
    nice written and come with approximately all important infos.
    I would like to see extra posts like this .

Leave a Reply

