“Just smile a little bit, it will help…”

11:33AM – Brooklyn
“Just smile a little bit, it will help,” said the lady walking past me perpendicular as I approached the corner.

Is she talking to me? The lady behind me laughed.. There was no way the first woman could have seen the woman who laughed. So either that woman was speaking to me or it was someone she was on the phone with. But she’s not on the phone as far as I can see, and no one else is within eye contact or ear shot distance… #hmm

11:36AM – Brooklyn
Meanwhile I’m now on the subway. Listening to my track and trying to read, I found a seat next to a pretty woman. Not that there were many options. Anyways, right before the train came, I had to re-up my ticket, which forced me to juggle my wallet and belongings. Long story short, in the back of my pants there is a large hole. Rather than puttingy wallet back into my bag, I must have put it in my pants.

11:38AM – Brooklyn
On the train I tried to listen to my music and smile. I also tried to read and not pay attention to anyone, specifically the woman next to me…

11:45AM – Manhattan
Four stops later I made a sudden audible and jumped out at 2nd Ave. to walk home from here. As I got up and stepped out, I glanced back, nothing. As I walked up the platform, I suddenly I felt lighter, as if I was missing something. My wallet!! Shit.. But where?!

Upon exiting the station and really thinking about the whole last 15 minutes, I wanted to cry for a second, until I remembered what the old lady had said earlier. From this point forward I smiled and laughed at the entire situation, fuck it… I then called my girlfriend, to explain that this was one of those moments, where “life” was talking to me. You see, most people don’t believe me when I say that i communicate with life. Specifically, my girlfriend is a scientist, and things like this sound like religion or voodoo to scientists. So I figured I would share this one…

Smiles are contagious you know. And laughter, as I was once told by a security guard in Florida a couple of weeks ago, can travel up to nine miles. #Wow!!

Even in the streets of NYC this is the case. My sudden enjoyment of life led me to share the aforementioned events with the homeless guy who didn’t have enough money (and nor did I to give him) to buy the mail lady a soda. Instead we all shared my wallet and smiles story, and walked away laughing.

Finally I made it home. And with any remaining energy I could muster up, forced positivity and smiled my way into doing some work. While on the mobile line, I received a miss call from a (347) area code. I called it back.

An older Latino woman answered and through both of our broken languages lead to eventual communication through her daughter who spoke almost perfect English and refused to respond to my horrible Spanish, in Spanish.

Net / Net, this amazing woman found my wallet, and turned it into PS. 1. Assuming this was in Brooklyn, I call the school and found out the they don’t let guests in after 2:30pm, and they were located on 47th st. between 3rd & 4th avenues. Retrieval would be a tomorrow task, as I no needed to head to the band to get another new debit card (Picked up a new temporary card yesterday, day, due to fraudulent activity). Now I had to swing back over, and grab a new one again, so that I could pay for my doctors visits and prescription in just under two hours from now.

As I set out toward the bank, It dawned on me that I was at 19th and 2nd, and that the PS.1 was apparently on 47th & 3rd. So I call back to confirm, yep, between “3rd & 4th Ave. So gitty-up, I decided to get my run in as well, and hustle but up there to pick up my wallet rather than go to the bank. After a 20 in uptown jog, I made 47th and 3rd. But PS. 1 was no where in sight.. WTF???!! I call them back..

(Meanwhile thinking to myself, how the fuck did my wallet get up to Manhattan from Brooklyn.. Maybe no one found it on the train until then.. But even so, does the F train go near 47th?/ Hmm..)

After answering the phone, Wendy asked, “Where are you David?” To which I replied, 47th and 3rd, Manhattan. Wendy chuckled, and asked, “How did I think my wallet got up to Manhattan, PS. 1 is in Brooklyn where I lost my wallet.” I replied, hmm, I was trying to figure that out too.. We agreed that tomorrow (actually now today) would be better for me to pick it.

photo 1 (1)

2:35PM – Manhattan (47th & 3rd)
Fortunately there was one of my banks right there on the corner. So I popped in to get a new temp debit card before running down to my doctor’s appointment in about 45mins. Even more fortunate, was that my bank was very prompt in turning me and my request for, another, temp card. And I was off to Soho!! #letsgo!

3:25PM – Manhattan (Spring & Thompson)
Instagram: “The reason why #tourists get confused in #NYC…
#NYC #Tourists

4:48PM – Manhattan (19th & 2nd)
Finally home, with a couple of hours to work before heading out to catch Evie Archer at the Cutting Room by 8PMish… In that time, I sat and reflected on the day and the effect of laughter and smiling. Thankfully the woman who passed me this morning reminded me to smile. This was life talking to me. Fortunately I listened, but should have known better in the first place. As a result of these events, and the, not included in this blog post evening’s activities, I wrote the following song, inspired by “the Encounter.”

As a creator and composer, I take inspiration from my daily environment, those around me, and myself. Below is a great example of how an “encounter” can be interpreted in through music and sound. Enjoy!

Cheers!
Ravin Dave

Comments
6 Responses to ““Just smile a little bit, it will help…””
  1. I want to to thank you for this very good read!!

    I certainly loved every little bit of it. I have got you saved as a favorite to check out new
    things you post…

  2. Everyone loves what you guys are usually up too.

    Such clever work and exposure! Keep up the amazing works guys I’ve you guys to blogroll.

  3. I wanted to thank you for this fantastic read!!

    I absolutely loved every little bit of it. I have you bookmarked to look at new things you post…

  4. I just could not go away your site before suggesting that I extremely enjoyed
    the standard info a person provide for your guests?
    Is gonna be again ceaselessly to check out new posts

  5. I needed to thank you for this excellent read!! I definitely loved every little bit of
    it. I’ve got you saved as a favorite to check out new things
    you post…

  6. What’s up, its good post on the topic of media print, we all be
    familiar with media is a impressive source of facts.

Leave a Reply

